Posted by: Jack Hope | Monday March 12, 2012

A Letter to a Friend Who’s Not Here

Dear Terry,

It’s time for me to face the facts. It’s time for me to face the truth. I don’t want to.  In a way that is hard to describe, its easier for me to carry on. There’s a safety in it that is very difficult for me to let go of.

Still it’s time.  I am ready to move on to what’s next and face what must be done. I am ready to go beyond being sick and into being healthy.

I am ready to go beyond my depression and to take my life back.

I’m not sure how I’m going to do this.  My recent “episode” (such a small word for such a huge thing) has been devastating in so many ways.  The loss of our friendship has been one of the tragic consequences.  It’s been three years, the last year and a half a brutal crawl out of a debilitating and crushing episode.  I think the worst is past now.

If anything, I feel like I am in a holding pattern.  Better but not finished.  Restored but not healed.  But its hard to move on.  I’ve been depressed for so long that it’s my default state.  I don’t know how people are going to react to me or how a non-depressed me fits into the world I left behind.

What will be going back to work be like?  How will the new people I meet react to me?  What kind of life am I going to have now?

My old life isn’t acceptable anymore.  I can’t go back to living the way I was, but I have lived like that for so long I don’t know if I can find any other pattern.  I don’t know if I can succeed at being different.  I’m scared that if I stumble, that I will fall back into my depression.

I don’t know if I can survive another episode.  One this bad, I feel certain will finish me.

When I was first diagnosed with Major Depressive Disorder I remember I visited with my friend Bob and I cried and cried on his shoulder for hours and hours.  I told him, that it felt like my life was a house that I was trying to build and that my first episode was like a flood, sweeping away almost everything and leaving a frame behind.  My second episode was like a fire, destroying everything except for the land upon which the house had stood.

My third episode, this one, was like a meteor destroying the entire town and leaving nothing to start over again with.

Yet this time, I feel an almost irrational sense of exuberance, that I can genuinely build a better more stable house than ever before.  It’s an intoxicating feeling.

It’s also incredibly frightening.  If I fail this time, the disaster will not be one I can recover from.

Years like this, I wish you were around.  I wish a lot of things.  Wishing, however, does not make things so.

All I can do is face it, as bravely as possible.

Love,

Jack

Responses

  1. You must care for Terry very much to write this moving blog to the memory of your friendship. I hope writing and sharing your thoughts helps to lessen the pain of your depression.

    • Thank you for your kind words and for being the first to comment on my blog. I believe writing and other creative endeavours can and do help relieve the pain caused by mental illness.


Leave a Reply

Categories

