Posted by: Jack Hope | Tuesday April 24, 2012

Mud in my Veins, Steel in My Bones #inspiration #depression #hope

I recently came across this song by Jim Cuddy, lead singer for one of my favourite bands, Blue Rodeo.  This is from his new solo album, also named ‘Skyscraper Soul.’ The entire album is a love letter to the City of Toronto.

This song evokes in me my own love of Vancouver.  For some reason, I feel drawn to this city in a way that I have never been able to explain, despite the fact that this place has nearly killed me a couple of times over.  I’m quite certain most days that my love of this city is indeed a sure sign of my own mental illness.

This song also speaks to the strength of survivors, toughing out life and still managing to thrive.  Life can endure in the most difficult of circumstances and a person can grow and flourish in almost any environment, overcoming almost any obstacle.

Now more than ever I need to believe that I can move beyond, that life won’t always just be scraping by, struggling from one day to the next.

Jim Cuddy’s Website and Info can be found here: http://www.jimcuddy.com/

Also fantastic, Blue Rodeo: http://www.bluerodeo.com/

Leave a Reply

Categories

