Posted by: Jack Hope | Friday June 15, 2012

Highlights and Reflections from my Day of Gratitude

Well having just completed my little day of gratitude, sharing through my blog and through twitter the things that I feel grateful and trying to spread around my feeling of gratitude, I have to say that I feel that I accomplished what I set out to do.  I successfully reinforced my sense of gratitude and with it my hope for the future, and I also got some good ideas.

Will I do it again?  Something similar, almost certainly.

Most of the responses came via Twitter and you can check out the Day of Gratitude tweets here: #dayofgratitude

One of the twitteratti, @Pandaologist, suggested that I should put some of this into an emergency plan or folder. I’d never even considered having one, although I’ve previously put together things like a work portfolio. But the idea makes a lot of sense really, to have some built-in ready to go psychological support for myself in the event I find myself in an emotional crisis.

We plan and prepare for all kinds of crisises and disasters, why not be prepared for an emotional emergency as well?

I was given an absolutely fantastic compliment from Amy (@junior3922) on Twitter:

All I can say to this is, thank you so much Amy!

I also received an inspiring tweet from David Gilbert (@InHealthAssoc):

And one from Pandaologist (@pandaologist):

I can only hope that you’re right Pandaologist!

I discovered that my cat, Samwise, aside from being a great psychological support, also has a few fans on the Internet. I’ve collected some pictures of him in a post here: And By Popular Request

I got a great comment shared on my previous post here.  Mostly the response I got was via Twitter but Trish’s comment really struck me and I’m heartened to know how gratitude has played a big part in her journey. I’m very thankful to her for sharing and look forward to seeing more of what she has to offer on her blog: Mental Health Talk

Some of my favourite comments from twitter:

  • I’m grateful for the internet 🙂  @amanda_stand
  • I am grateful for having found great support on Twitter. Thank you 🙂  @disparity_muse
  • I’m grateful for the fact I am warm and safe and have a roof over my head. @Udont_define_me
  • I’m grateful for stumbling across your blog entry that gave me something to ponder over. @GolightlyMolly

I gained some new Twitter followers and some new blog subscribers. I had my busiest day ever on my blog for views, so busy that it’s made June the best month I’ve had since I started doing this, and we’re only slightly halfway through.

I gained an appreciation for what others are grateful for and I was strongly reminded that despite my misfortunes, that I am still in a very fortunate place. And I got to share some of the things that I am grateful for, which is also a reminder of many things that make me happy and the debts that I owe to other people for the things that they’ve done to me.

I can only hope that over time I am able to pay it forward.

There’s no denying right now that there is a sense of change in the air around my life. Some things are starting to percolate which may, hopefully, lead to a real change in direction away from my most recent relapse. There will hopefully be a lot more to share on this front in the not too distant future, so I hope you will stay tuned.

Once again, thank you all.

Responses

  1. My own gratitude post from a couple of weeks ago,
    http://thinking-about-leaving.blogspot.co.uk/2012/06/gratitude.html
    Great blog and post, will be checking in again!
    Take care

    • Thanks very much for the comment! I look forward to hearing more from you in the future. Great post on gratitude that you have there and a terrific blog to take a look at.

      Have a good one.


Leave a Reply

Categories

