Posted by: Jack Hope | Friday June 22, 2012

Launching Mental Health Must Reads

I’ve been noticing that I’ve been coming across some really interesting and really useful posts and bits of news for those of us in the trenches on the Mental Health front.  I’ve also been noticing that I’ve been getting more clicks on the ‘Depression Resources’ side bar and the paucity of actual resources I’ve listed there.

So, I’ve decided to (among other things) add some of the best of the best that I’ve come across on the Internet for understanding Depression, Mental Illness and other Mental Health issues.  All of them come from other bloggers who have, in my opinion, shown exceptional insight on the particular topic.

These posts all offer gateways into their particular blogs, all of which are well worth checking out further.  The first of these links are below as well as a link to the new page.

Mental Health First Aid Course (from Beauty From Pain Blog)

I’m Going to Stop Saying ‘Stigma’ (from Pride in Madness)

A Letter From Someone I Used to Be (from Mental Health Talk)

Courage Doesn’t Always Roar (from SimpLee Serene)

‘In Recovery’ versus  ‘Recovered’ (from Beauty From Pain Blog)

What It’s Like When You Can’t Pull Yourself Together (from More Than Disorganised)

And the main page here: Mental Health Must Reads

I will be updating and adding more material as I come across it.  As always, your thoughts and comments are welcome.

Responses

  1. Thanks for linking my post 🙂

    • No worries! It’s a fantastic post and it genuinely and profoundly changed my thinking on the subject of mental illness and the prejudice that’s surrounds it.

      • That’s great! It changed mine also!

  2. Hi Jack, I just came across a blog post I think is very useful: http://www.medicalbillingandcoding.org/blog/11-things-you-should-never-say-to-someone-with-depression/comment-page-1/#comment-3313

  3. Thanks for including me Jack 🙂

  4. Reblogged this on Beauty From Pain Blog and commented:
    Thanks, Jack, for including Beauty from Pain Blog 🙂

  5. Reblogged this on treehugginvamp and commented:
    Check out these must reads on depression.

  6. Thank you so much for linking to Serena’s letter on Mental Health Talk Jack. I am truly honoured. xo

    Love,
    Trish

  7. Reblogged this on Mental Health Talk and commented:
    Jack from Beyond Depression kindly included Serena’s story from Mental Health Talk in one of his “Mental Health Must Reads”. Thank you Jack!


Leave a Reply

Categories

