Posted by: Jack Hope | Tuesday July 3, 2012

Mental Health Must Reads Update

Some new items here to add to the Mental Health Must Reads page:

11 Things You Should Never Say to Someone With Depression from Medical Billing & Coding (as is the graphic at the top of today’s post) and recommended to me by Maureen Powell and well worth adding.  In particular to, I find this to be one of the simplest and most complete visual representations of what people with Depressive Disorders experience.  It’s a very useful starting point for the uninitiated.  Thanks for suggesting it Maureen!

Tell-Tale Signs of Chronic Stress and How to Get Back in Control of Your Life from Black Dog Tribe. Stress is probably the single most common mental health issue faced by anyone. It’s an almost universal constant that touches every person and this article provides a nice summary of stress and it’s issues.

CBC News Health: Spanking may be linked to later mental disorders is a news article from the CBC that I came across today and is reporting some very important research that could have a very significant impact on the mental health of future generations.  I’m still somewhat digesting this one myself, and I expect I will be doing some follow-up discussion on it in the near future.

I am also making a concerted effort to participate in more social media, as my participation on twitter has proven to be very beneficial for me and my collection of useful articles on mental health seems to be an obvious avenue for expanding my participation in the social media universe.

Thus far you can find my Mental Health Must Reads on Twitter via the #mhmustread hash tag.  And I’m also posting them to Pinterest here: Mental Health Must Reads Board

As always, your thoughts and comments are welcome and appreciated.

Responses

  1. Reblogged this on helpmyhead.

  2. Reblogged this on TreeHugginVamp and commented:
    Everyone who knows a depressive person should know what NOT to say.


Leave a Reply

Categories

