Posted by: Jack Hope | Saturday July 7, 2012

Momentum Re-visited

I had a stall these last few days.  Things just kind of stopped.  I stopped writing, I stopped tweeting, I stopped doing anything and just kind of fell into a stupor.

I’m not entirely sure what to make of it. It’s frustrating and annoying sitting there and struggling to think of something to do, something to say, something to move things forward even a little bit.  Just spinning my wheels and going nowhere fast.

I seemed to snap out of it just recently and it came to me with a thought on my recent post: Momentum.  I seem to be further refining this concept even as my momentum seems to be hitting the brakes and hard.

Still, progress, even tiny progress is still progress.  And hopefully a stall this brief won’t trigger any back slides.

During a recent #mhsm chat on twitter, one of the users mentioned that recovery should be thought of a road which immediately of course brought to mind the image of me in my car (it’s a Jeep, if anyone’s curious, metallic blue or cherry red) driving down the highway.

Recovery isn’t a destination, it’s a highway.  And as you’re on the cross-country road trip that is life, you leave behind the Province of Depression and cross into the Province of Healing and then eventually, into the Province of Beyond.

Provinces (almost all) are big places.  They’re destinations but contain lots to explore within, lots of places to find and new avenues to explore.

Fleshing out this idea this way seems to make sense to me.  Maybe it will even make sense to my readers. Maybe it will just give me enough of a kick-start to keep going forward.

We’ll see.

Responses

  1. Little bits of changes is like “one step in front of the other” .. living in the day and each day doing on thing different. Great writing of your truth!

    • Thanks for your comment and welcome to my blog! Living step by step has always been a bit of a struggle for me, but I hope that I can continue forward, even if my forward speed slows considerably.

  2. I often call those days I feel like I’ve lost my mojo today . They use to take over and I’d struggle to find any oomph in myself . I now go to bed saying tomorrow will be a better day . It’s just a bad day . And by dividing time slots into smaller pieces I cope better . You sure look as if you got your mOjo back this time love fi

    • Thank you for your comment, I’m not sure if I’ve got my ‘mojo’ back. Certainly it’s not back full strength yet, but I’m feeling optimistic. You might also want to check out Fighting Back Against A Bad Day to see another one of my techniques for maintaining some forward momentum.

  3. I like your analogy using the provinces. Some provinces take longer to cross.

    • I have to admit I was also somewhat inspired by a friend’s description of driving between Calgary and Toronto, the vast empty swaths of country, particularly in Northern Ontario.


Leave a Reply

Categories

