Posted by: Jack Hope | Monday July 16, 2012

Whoa, someone thought I was inspiring?

Stranger things have happened I guess. But still, the thought is more than a little frightening. My scribblings are inspiring someone (let’s not speculate that it’s more than one, I don’t think I can cope with that level of responsibility right now) in some way to do something.

Think about that for a second: something has now happened in the Universe that wouldn’t have happened if I hadn’t indirectly given someone the notion to do it in the first place.

I just hope it was something good. Or that if it was something bad that they don’t mention where they got their idea from.

All kidding aside, I really am honoured that someone, in this case Trish from Mental Health Talk, has opted to extend her 2012 Inspiration Award to me. You can check it out here.

Trish has become a fairly frequent commentator on my site and she always provides both valued insight and her unwavering support. Mental Health Talk itself is a fascinating and eclectic collection of writings on the subject.

I’ve received one or two of these thus far, which unfortunately I haven’t passed on. Between being crazy and writing here, I am finding I keep quite busy and one or two things have fallen by the wayside. With this one, I will be passing it on in one of my next couple of posts.

There’s been some interesting coincidences of late, just in some of the things that have been popping up in my life of late. I’ve already mentioned them in my most recent posts. All of it keeps giving me the recurring image of a stone, skipping across a lake and the ripples spreading out. Our actions can spread far and wide, impacting many different people, sometimes in unexpected ways.

In one sense, it can seem like an overwhelming responsibility, since we can never know how far our seemingly minor acts may actually have an impact. Small decisions at the right moment can change the course of human history. And I can barely manage to handle taking care of my cat some days.

But it also reminds me that we are all interconnected, that none of us exist in isolation from each other and that the world is a better place when we are connected and we share what we know and what we experience. I can see that more clearly than I have ever before, and as a result, the world seems a little less lonely and a lot more hopeful.

Depression often robs people of their connections, their sense of belonging, their ability to recognize just how much a part of the world they really are. At the height of my own, I was reduced to a very solitary being and was much less of myself for it. This stands as another good reminder for me as to what kind of life I am trying to build for myself.

So once again, thanks very much Trish!

Responses

  1. Good on ya Jack!! You deserve it. You are in a bout with a depressive episode atm and yet you still hold hope and encourage others and offer positivity. Glad to know ya buddy 😉

  2. Well there is also your fabulous blog award, http://beautyfrompainblog.com/2012/07/03/fabulous-blog-award/

    • Too true, how could I have neglected to mention that one! I always intended to get back to it and just didn’t.

      I will have to correct that oversight. Thanks!

      • Honestly, Jack, don’t worry about it. It’s cool 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

