Posted by: Jack Hope | Sunday July 22, 2012

Update: Progress!

Kitchen Status: Slightly Messy, Waiting for the Dishwasher to Finish!

Well, I have some good news all around to report and I’m feeling pretty positive about the direction things are going in! Without further ado:

  • Thanks to the help of several members of Alberta Health Services I am scheduled to finally see a psychiatrist again at the end of August! While still a long wait, this technically puts me under the minimum 4 months that I was advised the waiting list would be, and a lot better than the 9 months to a year that I had been advised it might be. It will be really good to be able to review my progress with someone and start planning my next steps properly.
  • Things are starting to come together towards helping me attend Angela’s wedding. I’m not quite at the stage yet where I feel comfortable returning the RSVP but a few more days of positive news and I may very well be able to do just that.
  • Spent the last couple of days helping my parents move things out to their place in BC. You’d think they were planning on living out there permanently! So running a little behind on all my odds and ends but getting caught up over the next day or so.
  • And I am continuing to follow through on my running training program. Enjoying it a great deal and I continue to be surprised at how much I am taking to it. Hopefully that will continue on into the future!
Responses

  1. Hooray progress!! Keep up the good news.

  2. I am sorry you have to wait so long to see a psychiatrist. Hang in there! It sounds like you’re doing all you can while you wait.

    • Thanks I am holding on so far! I am fortunate both that my recent episode seems to be easing and that I have worked for the Government in the past. Therefore I have been able to be pushy in a way that has been effective and that others far more deeper in would struggle with. Even for me it has been hard to constantly be pushing but it was necessary. The system desperately needs an overhaul in order to help more people effectively.


Leave a Reply

Categories

