Posted by: Jack Hope | Thursday July 26, 2012

An Open Letter to Angela

The following is the text of an e-mail that I sent out this morning:

Dear Angela,

It’s with great pleasure that I am writing to let you know that I will be attending your wedding. I will be mailing the formal RSVP soon but I wanted to contact you, as soon as possible, to let you know that I will be attending.

I can’t tell you how excited I am that I am going to be coming to your wedding and that I’ll be seeing you again for the first time in years. I’m very happy for you and your fiance and I am looking forward to meeting him. It’s been too long.

I am very sorry that I missed you during your last visit to Canada.

Unfortunately these last few years I’ve been very ill, struggling with Clinical Depression. It’s been an extremely difficult period for me, that has cost me dearly, including missing some of the most important events in the lives of my friends and family. I’ve been struggling to overcome it and have made significant headway but I am still battling Clinical Depression and the road to recovery that is ahead of me is still a long and perilous one.

In the last few months I have moved back temporarily with my parents in Calgary, although my hope is to return to Vancouver as soon as I am able to. I’ve been on disability for (its hard to believe now) over a year and a half. I’d like to, my condition permitting, return to work in the new year.

It has been really good for me to be back, everyone here, my family and all my friends have been very supportive to me while I go through this experience. My experience with Alberta’s health care has sadly been not nearly as positive, but I’m getting through that process too.

I miss Vancouver a lot though, I have friends there (who have also been very supportive) and despite all the difficulties, I have slowly but surely been establishing a life there, a life that I want to go back too. This whole time has been a giant interruption in my life.

Yet at the same time I am grateful for this experience in one real and tangible way: I know what its like to be happy again.

That sounds crazy, I know, but I’ve been in such a long perpetual decline that I had lost the knowledge of what it meant to be happy, of what being fulfilled could be like. And now I have that potential back.

I feel like I will be introducing you to a new person when I see you in September and I hope you’ll like him a lot.

As soon as I have my travel plans worked out I will let you know the details. I hope to have that done here in reasonably short order.

As well, please let me know if there’s any particular gifts that you might like from Canada (I don’t suppose you were able to register with the Bay at all?) that I could bring for your wedding?

Once again, I just want to say how excited I am that I’ll be able to be there for your big day. I am absolutely overjoyed for you and very much looking forward to seeing you again and meeting your fiance. Please extend my best wishes to your parents.

Love,

Jack

Responses

  1. Congrats on being able to go!! I know how disappointed you were to thing that it wasn’t possible. 🙂

    • Thanks! There are still some small hurdles to jump but nothing as big as the ones that I already seem to have passed. I’m quite amazed that I have come this far!

  2. Congratulations Jack. This is wonderful news. xo


Leave a Reply

Categories

