Posted by: Jack Hope | Monday August 27, 2012

An Open Letter to Me

I am participating in the #IAM project being put together by Casey Malvern to help break the stigma surrounding mental health issues. Each week, they’ve been issuing challenges to encourage participants to think about their own experiences. This past week’s challenge was one right up my alley, writing a letter! Specifically writing a letter to yourself.

The project has a Facebook page up and running which can be found here: https://www.facebook.com/iamfireworkmentalhealth I’m asking all of my readers to take a few minutes and take a look at what Casey is doing. Clicking the ‘like’ button is very much appreciated!

You can also find them on twitter here: https://twitter.com/firework_iam

And, of course, the blog can be found here: http://iamfirework.com/

And now, without further ado, my letter to myself:

Dear Me,

How are you doing? It’s been a while since we last talked. I feel sad that we don’t talk as often as we should. I know it’s hard, there are so many distractions in life, so many other things always going on.

I know it’s also hard to hear me over the other guy. He never shuts up. He’s loud and never stops making his thoughts known. But it doesn’t matter, how loud and obnoxious he gets, I’m still there.

And I know.

I know the truth. The truth the other guy tries to hide and that you can’t or won’t accept most of the time. When you’d rather hide away from the world or feel like the most unloved person that’s ever lived, I am still there and I still know the truth.

And the truth is that I see what other people see, what you never let yourself see. I see how you are connected to everyone else, I see how you are an important piece to those around you and I see that you matter.

I see that the world is a better place because you are in it and that you would be missed by more people than you can imagine.

I know it’s not always easy to see this or to accept it, when you feel so lost, drowning in a torrential sadness. But it’s still true.

It’s true even during all of the horrible dark times and black places that you’ve been through.

It’s true yesterday and its true tomorrow.

I see you, the way others see you, all the good things, all ways that you make the world a better place.

You are not a bad person. You are not a worthless person.

No matter how bad it may be, no matter how much in may hurt, no matter how much you may just want things to end, I’m still here in the quiet place in the back of your mind. If you really listen you can hear me remind you of the truth.

You matter.

To yourself, to your family, to your friends, to more people than you can really even comprehend.

You matter.

Take good care of yourself and try not to listen to other guy.

All the best,

Me

Leave a Reply

Categories

