Posted by: Jack Hope | Tuesday September 4, 2012

Time For Some Changes

Well, it’s September now and here in Canada (and many other places) school has once again begun. In a lot of ways it feels like the start of a new year, even though I’ve been out of school for years!

For me, in a lot of ways, this is a time of new beginnings, a time of change and I’m embracing that.

Going Beyond

My regular readers I’m sure will have noticed that there have been some changes here on my blog. A few more are coming in the not too distant future as I learn more about what I can do with WordPress and experiment some more.

But more important than the changes to how things look and operate on my webpage, the format here is changing. When I first started this blog I was (and still am) very much missing my friend Terry. In part to reach out, in part to motivate myself to write, I wrote this blog as an open letter to her.

Well, I’ve been writing a lot fewer letters lately and branching a bit further out. This is a good thing, I think that I’m stretching myself further and also writing to a broader audience. It’s also a sign.

It’s time for me to move on.

While I still miss Terry immensely and still keenly feel her absence in my life, this blog has gone a lot further than that and it’s time that it reflected that. There will still be Open Letters to Terry appearing from time to time, but the time when that was this blog’s main purpose and format is now past.

German Odyssey

It’s now only a few days until I get onto a plane and take off for my friend Angela’s wedding in Germany. I’m both incredibly nervous and excited. Angela is one of those friends with whom I dropped out of contact with during the worst of my illness and even though her response to me coming has been enormously enthusiastic, I am still nervous about seeing her again for the first time after so many years.

Still this is an important time for her and I am really thrilled that I am able to participate. This is one of those things that I need to do, not just to help restore important friendships but also to remind myself of who I really am.

This what I am fighting to get better for.

My preparations to leave on my trip are almost complete now and I’m looking forward to a relaxing few days before I get ready. I’ve decided to make sure that I am completely prepared to go at least two days before hand. I hate the last-minute flurry of running around.

I want my last few days to be tranquil and focused on other things, like running for example, which I intend to keep up while I am in Germany. I am also going to be continuing to post, so be sure to check back for updates as the trip proceeds!

Three to Go

A somewhat embarrassing adjustment to my post ‘Two to Go’ as I have belatedly realized that it really is three to go. There should have been four people on that initial list. And the worst part is that this person has already been previously mentioned here on this blog, my friend Julie. I shared a just started letter to her dated Thursday February 20, 2001 showing why I have to move beyond depression, somehow.

With Julie there aren’t the same outstanding emotional issues to deal with, just the loss of contact stemming from my battle with Depression. Still, it’s another meaningful connection that I need to restore and that I hope to do so soon.

One Last Item

My old domain: www.beyondepression.com is still active and links using it are still functioning for now. However, as of Sunday September 23, 2012, I will no longer be the owner of beyondepression.com and it will cease to re-direct to my webpage. If you happen to have any links to my page, I encourage you to update them to the new http://www.beyonddepression.ca (note the double d!) as soon as possible.

Responses

  1. I’m so pleased you are going . I think you will feel all the better for doing it well done you


Leave a Reply

Categories

