Posted by: Jack Hope | Tuesday November 6, 2012

I Won’t Give Up

In case you missed it you might like to check out my previous post: An Apology


“I won’t give up on us, Even if the skies get rough, I’m giving you all my love, I’m still looking up.”
– Jason Mraz ‘I Won’t Give Up’

I wish I had known the real story about this song months ago. I have to admit the first time I heard it that the theme of not giving up on a relationship, no matter how hard things go, appealed very strongly to me.

But if what I’ve heard on the radio recently regarding this song is true, it turns out the entirety of the song was written with Jason Mraz with himself as the primary audience, not the person with whom his relationship was failing. It gives me a new (and needed) perspective on this song.

And for myself.

Today I went into the bathroom and looked into the mirror and recited the first stanza of the chorus to myself.

I won’t give up on us. Me, myself and I. And anyone else kicking around in my skull.

I’ve come too far to quit on myself. I’ve been through too much, I’ve lost too much and tried too hard to give up now, no matter how the big the roadblocks may be.

Apparently there’s still some big ones out there ahead of me. More mistakes will undoubtedly be made by me on my road forward. But even this recent setback is just that, a setback. It’s only a failure if I stop.

I’m only a failure if I stop trying.

I won’t give up. I can’t give up.  I deserve nothing less than to keep giving myself everything I can. God knows, I’m worth it.

I know I am worth it.

I won’t give up, even if the skies get rough, I am giving it all my love, I’m still looking up.

Responses

  1. Ok, now get on with the sharing of pictures from your trip! I’ve been waiting patiently to see all the fun you had 🙂

    • My next post is pictures! I promise! 😀

      • (insert NJ accent here) You bedda! 😛

  2. Yes, God does know. I LOVE this song. Thanks for posting it.

  3. One of my very favorite songs. I can listen to this all day.. I can relate. 🙂

    • Thanks for the comment and welcome to Beyond Depression!


Leave a Reply

Categories

