Posted by: Jack Hope | Friday January 11, 2013

So Get Ready I’m Running

This friday I thought I’d share my new favourite running song, literally called ‘Running’ by Canadian R&B artist Jully Black. This song sums up a lot of what I’m feeling, both on and off the treadmill.

Some of the things that have cropped up this past week include:

  • An unexpected reminder that I still have some lingering social phobias to deal with when I went to the gym for the first time in a very long time.

  • Also had a “duh” moment to at the gym as I was fiddling with the gym equipment and trying to remember what my trainer from a few years back had taught me. Then I remembered that my other brain (iPhone) would have lots of information via the ‘Net. Obviously, there’s an app for that.
  • Moved the treadmill into the common room so that my Dad can start using it (I hope he does) and so I can watch TV while I on the treadmill instead of staring at this picture:
    Picture hanging on the wall.

    Picture hanging on the wall.

    I like this picture a lot, but I’m a product of our media saturated age and getting a little bored of staring at one non-moving image all the time.

  • Still working and moving forward on my 2013 plan. Aside from the opportunity to think deeply about what I want to do, I’m also getting a real look at some of the deficiencies that I still have to deal with, particularly with managing and overcoming fear. That’s going to be a big part of doing all of this.
  • Also in the fears department, backed out of a regular Doctor’s appointment claiming it was due to weather conditions. We’ve had some snow and the roads aren’t great but I could have gone, if I was careful and took my time. Going to try to go again today but my current family Doctor intimidates the hell out of me. Another thing to mention to Doctor Z when I see him on Monday, along with all the Bipolar questions.
Leave a Reply

Categories

