Posted by: Jack Hope | Wednesday March 13, 2013

Downhill Run

Vancouver's Burrard Bridge, the Sun Run crosses False Creek here. © Ramunas | Dreamstime Stock Photos & Stock Free Images

Vancouver’s Burrard Bridge, the Sun Run crosses False Creek here. © Ramunas | Dreamstime Stock Photos & Stock Free Images

With about six weeks and change to go before race day I’m starting to feel a sense of anticipation about a trip to the West Coast. The race itself is, obviously one of my  bigger goals for the year, although in keeping with yesterday’s post I’m also looking further afield to what comes afterwards.

I’m also starting to think about what it will be like to spend a significant chunk of time back on the Coast, the place that I’d prefer to be living versus where I am actually living. In a way, it’s going to be taking a holiday with my life rather than from my life.

Still, I’m trying to keep my mind on the here and now and my more immediate goals, the things that will make resuming life out there possible.

In terms of training, I’ve decided to start tort… erm, strengthening myself by setting steeper inclines on the treadmill for the shorter runs. This stretches out my times but it also strengthens my muscles.

What I really need is some good weather and a lot less snow on the ground. The running inside staring at the television is starting to drive me around the twist.

Treadmills aren’t the most accurate way to measure the distance a person can run and you can see a marked drop off in the distances I can run in a given time on the treadmill versus those tracked outside using RunKeeper.

A couple of runs outside in half way decent weather (where I don’t run the risk of hitting a bad icy patch and breaking my neck) is exactly what I need right now.

Hopefully, I should be able to conduct of few of those in the next couple of weeks.

Responses

  1. Funny name False Creek. That doesn’t look like a creek at all to me, more like a river, maybe that’s why the False in the name??
    Anyway, I’m glad to hear your running is still on track and that you will be getting to spend some time on the coast.
    I live on the east coast but I find myself missing the west coast often. Really is a different world..
    As always lots of luck!!.
    🙂

    • Sorry I’m a bit late responding to your comment, life just kind of got away from me. At any rate, False Creek is not a creek in any way shape or form and never has been, it’s actually a small inlet from English Bay and the Pacific. How it acquired its name is question I still haven’t been able to resolve to my satisfaction.

      It’s actually funny but my first apartment in the city was just off the right side of that picture on the other side of the bridge and down a couple blocks. It was only a block or two up from beach.

      Comparing my mental state then and now is like night and day and I really wonder what things I may have missed out on during that time. Ah well, onwards and forwards is the best way to go!

      • Only look back to see how far you’ve come, never to wonder what you may have missed. “You’ve come a long way baby!” comes to mind. 🙂

  2. I am cheering you on my friend! I think it’s great you are taking a huge leap of faith keeping yourself in the now for this race and not looking too far ahead.. good for you.. can’t wait to hear all about it

    • Thanks so much for the support! It really means a lot to know I have a lot of terrific people cheering me on!


Leave a Reply

Categories

