Posted by: Jack Hope | Wednesday April 10, 2013

The Finish Line is in Sight

So it’s now less than two weeks to go before the Vancouver Sun Run, my first competitive run and in a way, the culmination of my running since I started it last August.

Just getting this far has turned out to be a pretty amazing journey. I’ve gone from huffing and puffing my way through 20 minutes of walking/running to running nearly 10K and going for over an hour.

All I can say is that I am grateful that the weather has finally gotten nicer though as race day has neared.

For whatever reason it seems I’m a bit of a strange runner in that I find running on the treadmill much harder and more frustrating than running outside. I’ve discussed this with my sister (also a fellow runner) and she’s pretty sure it’s me and not the treadmill.

I have to say that I’m feeling pretty excited. I’m not going to be able to complete the race in under an hour, yet I’m still excited to be going, feeling the enthusiasm as I do my last batch of runs ahead of the race.

As I get ready and while I’m away my posting schedule here and on Twitter will continue to be light but I hope you’ll bear with me as I’m working on a few interesting things.

I will be providing some live tweeting from race day and a complete follow-up post. It’s been quite a journey to get this far and I can almost see the end of the line.

Responses

  1. You’ve had an amazing year. I’m so proud of you for sticking to your guns about the run. I think it’s important that you complete what you set out to do when you first started running. Who cares how long it takes this time, you are ready to do it. You’ve fallen off the running wagon a couple of times with your drop outs, but you’ve always resumed training. That takes strength. Is very easy to say, ah screw it, I failed, maybe next time. The treadmill versus outdoors i think has more to do with the depression. Being outdoors is good for depression. The sun, even on cloudy days gives us vitamin d, and the fresh air clenses us. Also, there’s so much to see outside compared to a room indoors. The sensory simulation outside keeps us distracted and prevents the circular and depressing thoughts from getting in the way. I can’t run, bad knees, but i have set a goal to get some exercise outside and have some fun with my daughter this summer. The couple days that I’ve done stuff in the past week have made a difference already. Good luck on the run. I’ll keep an eye out for your tweets. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

